“Vivian Versus America” by Katie Coyle Review

This book came out on the 4th of September, published by Hot Key Books and is the much anticipated sequel to “Vivian Versus the Apocalypse”, published in 2013. If you haven’t read that book, I highly recommend you do, and if you’re still not convinced, I reviewed that book as well back when it came out. (http://youtu.be/EME_WNrSDtU) But to avoid spoilers for this first book, please don’t watch this review.

Vivian Versus America picks up right where the first book left off, Viv and Harp are in San Francisco having just left her mother in her sister’s house they take to the streets to find a car to find a blue eyed boy and take down the Church of Frick. But they quickly realize that after the events of the last book, the Church has put a bounty on their head. So this book follows Viv and Harp as they run and hide and fight against the church, all while trying to find Peter, or even to find out if he is alive.

Having really enjoyed the previous book in this series, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book. I pre-ordered it as soon as I saw that it was available (literally 5 months ago) and as soon as it arrived at my door, I began reading. I was enthralled, and hooked. Coyle really doesn’t waste any time, we are plonked right back into the action. And what action it is! This book is jam packed with suspense filled fighting and conflict, far more than the previous book. No more is the meek Vivian we meet in the first book, she and Harp are now faces of a rebellion, in this book you really do see things HAPPEN. Being set so close to the second rapture, this books feels very fast paced, the pressure is on, and the fighting has only just began.

As well as characters we know and love from the previous book, we are also introduced to a new cast of characters that Katie Coyle manages to make sympathetic and real in the short length of this book. Which I think really helps the overall arch of this story, which towards the end is almost darker than the first. I am reminded of Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four when reading some of the later chapters. We see how the corporation has so much power over the people, and we learn the horrific truth.

If you like good dystopia/apocalypse novels, or just good novels in general, I can highly recommend these books.

Have you read these books? What did you think of them? Who’s your favourite character (mine is Harp) tell me in the comments or on twitter @24hoursayear.

 

Josh x

This article is the script for the above video. It may not read perfectly, it was simply to guide me through the video.

 

About 24hoursayear

The blog of YouTube nobody, Joshua Gray. Here I will post whatever I like whenever I like. It would be nice if you stuck around, but not mandatory.
Video | This entry was posted in Reviews, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

